Last year, on January 1, 2015, Massachusetts’ minimum wage increased to $9.00 per hour, and Connecticut’s minimum wage increased to $9.15 per hour. With January 1, 2016 just around the corner, employers must update their hourly wages to comply with yet another increase in the minimum wage in both states. Effective January 1, 2016, the minimum wage for Massachusetts’ employees will rise to $10.00 per hour, and Connecticut’s minimum wage will be $9.60 per hour.
The laws in Massachusetts and Connecticut also provide for further increases next year. On January 1, 2017, Massachusetts’ minimum wage will increase to $11.00 per hour, and Connecticut’s to $10.10 per hour.
Each state has updated its workplace posters, which are required to be posted by state law in both states. The Massachusetts poster is available on the state’s website and Connecticut’s poster can be found here.